Cleanliness – days 4 and 5

By: Rora

Dec 04 2010

Category: Japan

1 Comment

Oh my. I haven’t updated in a few days. Have I been hiding on purpose? Maybe. I kind of fell off the bandwagon on Thursday and Friday.

Thursday it was completely unintentional, and not really that bad in retrospect. My breakfast and lunch and snacks were all fine. After work, a friend and I met up with a Japanese friend, Yuki, to help her study English. When I arrived at our meeting place, Yuki had her keys in her hand and said she was going to take us to our house and cook us a meal in exchange for our help. It was the kind of situation where I definitely couldn’t say no! She cooked us some delicious stir fry, rice, and an awesome cucumber and chicken salad. I’m pretty sure the meal was mostly cleanse friendly, except maybe for the sauces that she used. So all in all, it was okaaay… and I felt okay about it. She was an awesome cook and it was incredibly nice of her to cook for us.

Friday is another story completely. I am 100% guilty. It had been a long week, and I was invited out to go to a Chinese restaurant with a group of friends. I could have said no… but I said yes, knowing that I would be eating tons of sugary glazed pork and drinking beer. I was feeling antsy to get out of the house and have some fun.The way this restaurant worked (like many restaurants in Japan) is that everybody pays a set price and can eat as much food and drink as much alcohol as they like. The servers bring out plates of food in waves, and you all share from the plates, so I didn’t have a lot of control over what I was going to eat. I tried to avoid the stuff that looked obviously sugary or fried, but after a while I just gave up and ate whatever.  I feel guilty, yes, and my stomach feels TERRIBLE today. That is probably the worst part. After not eating fried food and sugar for a week, going on a binge was probably the worst thing I could have done. But… it was fun. I’m back to following the cleanse for the rest of the weekend.

So, here is the wrap up:

Thursday

Breakfast: 2 eggs scrambled with garlic pepper

Lunch: tried a NEW type of rice ball today, and a slightly different salad. Crazy, I know!

Snacks: black tea, 2 mikans, a banana

Dinner: cucumber chicken salad, stir fry (bamboo shoots, bacon, bok choy, carrots, sprouts) and white rice.

Friday

Breakfast: Eggs again, scrambled.

Lunch: back to my regular rice ball and salad, plus leftover Japanese Spanish Rice

Snack: a banana, oranges

Dinner: you don’t even waaaant to know

Like Emilie, I have been thinking a lot about how I will eat and what I will eat next week. I think eating eggs for breakfast has been great- I am definitely less hungry by the time lunch rolls around, compared to when I just had a tiny bowl of frosted flakes. My lunch routine has been pretty set for a while, and I don’t see it changing any time soon. I will definitely start eating tofu again, but I am going to try and keep cooking cleanse friendly dinners aside from that. And eating fruit as a snack, rather than sugary sweets, has kept me feeling more even throughout the day, so I am going to keep up with that, too. And I’m gonna try to keep the Chinese food eat-a-thons to a very, very minimum. Yikes.

One comment on “Cleanliness – days 4 and 5”

  1. you’re doing fine! don’t beat yourself up for it.. you can still apply all that you learned about what makes you feel good from here on out.


Leave a Reply

