Starbucks − スターバックス 

By: Rora

Dec 30 2010

Category: Japan

Leave a comment

This is what a Japanese Starbucks looks like.

This is what a Japanese Starbucks sounds like.

I never thought I’d say it, but I like going to Starbucks in Japan. Throughout my life as a coffee drinker, Starbucks has always been a last-resort if there were no better options, only in infrequent moments of desperation. After all, I am a proud former barista at one of the awesomest locally owned coffee shops in Boston. But I haven’t found any awesome locally owned coffee shops here (not that they don’t exist, but they are less visible for certain)… and it’s awfully nice to get out of my (freezing) house and read a book with some coffee in hand. I like that I can do what I like at Starbucks without getting distracted by or drawn into the conversations going on around me. The coffee sucks every bit as much as it does in the States, it’s even more expensive if you can imagine that, but I’m a sucker for a comfy couch and a nice view at a coffee shop. Until I find a suitable independent place to lurk, Starbucks will have to do.

Leave a Reply

